The Los Angeles County Democratic Party issues endorsements in local and municipal candidate races and takes positions on statewide and local ballot measures. Los Angeles County Democratic Party endorsements issued in local and municipal races become the official endorsements of the California Democratic Party.

For information regarding Democratic Party endorsements in federal and state candidate races, please visit the California Democratic Party website.

Please Contact Us if you have any questions.

Current Endorsements


 November 4, 2014 Statewide General Elections & Local Elections

Additional endorsements will be considered and announced.

Statewide Propositions

Proposition 1 – YES – Water Quality, Supply, and Infrastructure Improvement Act of 2014 (AB 1471)
Proposition 2 – YES – State Reserve Policy
Proposition 45 – YES - Insurance Rate Public Justification and Accountability Act
Proposition 46 – NO - Stop the Healthcare Lawsuit Measure
Proposition 47 – YES – Criminal Sentences. Misdemeanor Penalties. Initiative Statute.
Proposition 48 – YES – Indian Gaming Compacts. Referendum. (AB 277)
Proposition 49* – YES – Political Spending. Advisory Question on Overturning Citizens United Decision
*Pending possible court action on appeal 

Los Angeles County Offices

Los Angeles County Assessor
Jeffrey Prang

Los Angeles County Sheriff
DO NOT VOTE Paul Tanaka

Los Angeles County Supervisor
Dist. 3 – Sheila Kuehl

Los Angeles County Superior Court Judge
Office 61 – Jacqueline H. Lewis
Office 87 – Andrew M. Stein


Inglewood Mayor
James Butts*

City of Redondo Beach
Measure CM – YES
Measure BE – YES

City of Santa Clarita
Measure S – NO

Santa Monica City Council
Sue Himmelrich
Kevin McKeown*
Pam O’Connor*

Santa Monica Rent Control Board
Steve Duron
Nicole Phillis

Community College Districts

Santa Monica Community College District
Nancy Greenstein*
Louise Jaffe*
Maria Loya
Barry Snell*

School Districts

Azusa Unified School District
Measure K – No Endorsement

Fuller Joint Union High School District
Joanne Fawley

Santa Monica-Malibu Unified School District
Oscar de la Torre*
Laurie Lieberman*
Ralph Mechur*
Richard Tahvildaran-Jesswein

Water Districts

West Basin Municipal Water District
Div. 1 – Harold Williams

Statewide Constitutional Offices

GovernorJerry Brown*
Lieutenant GovernorGavin Newsom*
Secretary of StateAlex Padilla
Attorney GeneralKamala D. Harris*
TreasurerJohn Chiang
State ControllerBetty Yee
Insurance CommissionerDave Jones*
Supt. of Public InstructionTom Torlakson*

State Board of Equalization
Dist. 1 – Chris Parker
Dist. 3 – Jerome Horton*

State Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal, Second District Judicial Retention
LACDP does not oppose the retention of California Supreme Court Justices and State Court of Appeal, Second District Judges on the November 4, 2014 ballot.

U.S. Congress

CD23 Raul Garcia
CD26 Julia Brownley*
CD27 Judy Chu*
CD28 Adam Schiff*
CD29 Tony Cardenas*
CD30 Brad Sherman*
CD32 Grace Napolitano*
CD33 Ted Lieu
CD34 Xavier Becerra*
CD35 Norma Torres
CD37 Karen Bass*
CD38 Linda Sanchez*
CD39 Pete Anderson
CD40 Lucille Roybal-Allard*
CD43 Maxine Waters*
CD44 Janice Hahn*
CD47 Alan Lowenthal*

State Senate

SD18 Robert Hertzberg
SD20 Connie Leyva
SD22 Ed Hernandez*
SD24 Kevin de Leon*
SD30 Holly Mitchell*
SD32 Tony Mendoza
SD34 Jose Solorio

State Assembly

AD36 Steve Fox*
AD38 Jorge Fuentes
AD39 Raul Bocanegra*
AD41 Chris Holden*
AD43 Mike Gatto*
AD44 Jacqui Irwin
AD45 Matt Dababneh*
AD46 Adrin Nazarian*
AD48 Roger Hernandez*
AD49 Ed Chau*
AD50 Richard Bloom*
AD51 Jimmy Gomez*
AD52 Freddie Rodriguez*
AD53 Miguel Santiago
AD54 Sebastian Ridley-Thomas*
AD55 Gregg Fritchle
AD57 Ian Calderon*
AD58 Cristina Garcia*
AD59 Reggie Jones-Sawyer*
AD62 Autumn Burke
AD63 Anthony Rendon*
AD64 Michael Gipson
AD66 Al Muratsuchi*
AD70 Patrick O’Donnell



8/12/14 Los Angeles Unified School District Special Runoff Election
6/3/14 Statewide Direct Primary & Local Elections
4/8/14 Local Elections


12/3/13 Assembly District 54 Special Election
11/19/13 Assembly District 45 Special General Election
11/5/13 Local Elections
9/24/13 State Assembly District 52 Special General Election
9/17/13 State Assembly District 45 & State Senate District 26 Special Elections
7/23/13 State Assembly District 52 and Los Angeles City Council District 6 Special Elections
5/21/13 Los Angeles Elections
4/9/13 Local Elections
4/2/13 Local Elections
3/12/13 State Senate District 32 Special Primary Election and Local Elections
3/5/13 Local Elections
2/26/13 Burbank Elections


11/6/12 – Statewide General and Local Elections
6/5/12 – Statewide Primary and Local Elections
4/10/12 – Local Elections
1/17/12 – Los Angeles Special General Election


11/8/11 – Local Elections
6/7/11 – Compton Runoff Elections
5/7/11 – Los Angeles Runoff Elections
4/19/11 – Compton Elections
4/12/11 – Burbank Elections
4/5/11 – Glendale Elections
Hacienda La Puente Unified School District – Recall of School Board Members (Petition Phase)
3/8/11 – Local Elections
2/22/11 – Burbank Elections
2/15/11 – State Senate Special Elections


11/2/10 – Statewide General & Local Elections
6/8/10 – Statewide Primary & Local Elections
5/25/10 – Santa Monica/Malibu Unified School District Special Election
5/4/10 – Pasadena Unified School District Special Election
4/13/10 – Special State Assembly and Local Elections
2/23/10 – Montebello Special Recall Election


12/8/09 – Los Angeles City Council District 2 Special General Election
11/3/09 – Local Elections
9/22/09 – Los Angeles City Council District 2 Special Primary Election
9/1/09 – Assembly District 51 Special Election
7/14/09 – Congressional District 32 Special General Election
6/16/09 – Local Elections
5/19/09 - Statewide Special and Local Elections
April and May 2009 – Local Elections
3/10/09 – Local Elections
2/24/09 - Burbank Elections
1/20/09 – City of Industry Special Election


12/9/08 - Maywood Special Election
11/4/08- Statewide General Election
4/8/08 – Local Elections


11/6/07 – Local Elections
April and May 2007 – Local Elections
3/6/07 – Local Elections

google-site-verification: google54131919a99c007e.html