LACDP Chair Mark Gonzalez statement on appointment of Alex Padilla as California's next United States Senator

December 22, 2020

LACDP Chair Mark J Gonzalez releases statement on the selection of Secretary Alex Padilla as California's next United States Senator


With today's announcement that Governor Gavin Newsom has appointed Angeleno and California Secretary of State Alex Padilla as the state's next United States Senator, Los Angeles County Democratic Party Chair Mark J Gonzalez released the following statement: 

"California has proven time and time again that we are the leaders of thought, innovation, equality, and progress. That mantle is one of the reasons President-elect Joe Biden selected our Senator Kamala Harris, and the reason Governor Newsom has selected Secretary Alex Padilla to succeed her as our next United States Senator. Senator-designate Padilla has been a dedicated public servant, former LA City Councilmember, State Senator and now the first Latino to serve in the US Senate from our great state. Alex Padilla has proven to all Californians that honesty, integrity, and a value-driven work-ethic are needed to help guide our state into the 21st century and beyond. This year the Los Angeles County Democratic Party honored Vice President-elect Harris at our annual JFK Awards and was pleased to have Alex open up this year’s ceremony and welcome our honorees and guests. As Chair, I’m proud to have two of our Los Angeles Central Committee members make history - one as the next Vice President and the other as our next United States Senator. With the United States Senate losing the sole Black woman voice in the upper chamber, Democrats must commit to redoubling our efforts to recruit, guide, and uplift Black leaders up-and-down the ballot. LA Democrats stand ready to work with both Senator Padilla and Vice President Harris to do just that, work on behalf of our nation, and uphold our Democratic Party principles. When Los Angeles leads, California and the nation succeeds."


Latest posts

May 2023

April 2023

Share this page